Tags

, , , , , , , ,

1931_06_the_persistence_of_memory

 The Persistence of Memory (Spanish: La persistencia de la memoria; Catalan: La persistència de la memòria) is a 1931 painting by artist Salvador Dalí, and is one of his most recognizable works.

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/The_Persistence_of_Memory

 

 

I have lost my connection to time,

what others do at certain hours of the day

makes no difference to me at all.

I would appreciate to receive the same courtesy,

so please don’t come knocking on my door

with meaningless trifles and requests at your convenience

and raise eyebrows when you see me in my nightie

I’m not sleeping, I’m working,

I don’t need official clothes for this job

Just because I don’t do the things you do

on your schedule

doesn’t mean I’m idle

I don’t sleep during the hours you sleep,

I don’t dress at the time you do

I have more important things than that,

to me that is, not the world,

I don’t make money for my toils

I do it because I want to

Like you, I was a time-slave once, for a long time,

then it ended and I decided not to return to that premise

Maybe that’s why my clocks stopped working,

except my body-clock that never needs repair,

my watches also suffer from stress,

perhaps there is a message there.

 

I know about the cycles of the moon and

the rotation of the world around itself and the sun,

and the notion of days, months, seasons and years,

to me this is stale news,

it happens regardless of me.

I cannot stop it, so I ignore it and

let it be.

 

I’m living in my own dimension now,

free of standard time and its demands

I have stopped worrying about who will pay me back for time

I lost flying over the Pacific,

or to daylight saving

as far as I’m concerned those are pardoned debts I have written off.

 

I’m in a timeless zone now,

between daylight and night,

and what I do inside that zone

of perpetual motion,

is entirely my business.

